Email messages that are downloaded from your accounts are always accessible in Zimbra Desktop, even when you are not connected to the Internet. Working in Zimbra Desktop when not connected to the Internet is called “working offline”.
When you work offline, Zimbra Desktop cannot access your email accounts, but you can work in Zimbra Desktop as if you were connected to the Internet. You can review your messages, create new messages, clean up folders and make other changes that are synchronized back to your account when you access the Internet the next time.
|You can tell if you are working offline if a red square is next to your account name|
Note: You may be offline before the icon turns red as the network’s status updates when Zimbra Desktop attempts to sync to the server. If the attempt fails, the icon turns red.
You can force all accounts to go offline by clicking the small icon next to Accounts on the Overview pane.
Click the icon again to go back online.
What can you do while working offline?
- You can read your email messages, move them to folders, and tag them for follow up.
- You can type a reply to a message and send it, forward a message, or create a new message. The messages are saved to the Outbox and when you connect to the Internet the next time, they are automatically sent.
- You can delete messages. They are put in the Trash folder. For Zimbra account when you connect to the Internet the next time, the messages are moved to the Trash folder in your account. If you emptied your Trash folder, messages are deleted.
- You can use the Search and Advanced Search features to find messages and attachments that are in your Zimbra Desktop account.
- You can create a search and save it.
- You can change your Zimbra Desktop Preference. These options affect how you work within Zimbra Desktop. Changing preferences in the Zimbra Web Client Desktop changes your Zimbra Web Client account preferences as well. Changes made in Preferences for other email accounts affect the Zimbra Desktop settings only. They do not change your account settings.
Source : Zimbra.com